Project 2 case study: John Lewis My Home

We were required to write our Project 2 e-commerce case study on Medium.com so here is the link to view it there.

Project 2 case study

Feel free to leave me any thoughts/ feedback! This is the most robust piece of work I have done so far and it was definitely challenging. If I could go back again I would spend more time sketching different concepts. I really liked a few things that came out of the design studio, but then decided on them too early I think. Next time I would like to do some concept testing before I start sketching full on flows.

One of the hardest bits about this project was user testing. I didn’t realise how difficult it would be to ask non-leading questions and resist the urge to start explaining everything straight away! It’s also quite a shock when users don’t understand something that seemed so clear to you when you were designing it. Once again this is a good reminder that I AM NOT THE USER. Now that I have a better idea of how to conduct testing I want to do more!

A few things I really enjoyed:

  • The storytelling part of UX. Presenting my proposal was a lot of fun. When I was in Client Services I would present the big picture stuff, it’s great going into the details and the exciting stuff more 🙂
  • Sketching. I’m not great at drawing but it turns out you don’t have to be. Just enough to get your point across and you can do that with stick men and boxes and arrows. Design studio was definitely the highlight of the course so far.
  • User research. Talking to people! Asking them questions! People do this for a living – amazing.
  • Card sorting with candy. Because then we ate the candy.
  • Wireframing. Now, this was challenging getting to grips with Omnigraffle, but once I got into the groove I found it quite methodical and dare I say, relaxing! Also, it’s great seeing your sketches come to life in a more ordered fashion!

Someone said on Friday that UX is never done. That is so true because already I am itching to go back into this project and starting ripping bits up that I’m not happy with, tweak a few other things and do some more testing. But of course if I did that then I would never sleep 😉 and that’s a big enough problem already, thanks very much!

I believe I’ve developed enormously over the last two weeks and am really looking forward to putting all of these learnings into practice for Project 3.

Onwards!

2015-10-23 15.44.47

This entry was posted in Career change, case studies, General Assembly, UX and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment